Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Equal Opportunity Rapping… Really???

Is it just me or are there a whole lot of rap groups springing out right now. I think everybody got a group or group album or a squad of rappers that they can’t help but do songs with. I don’t think its out of the fact that all these rappers is homies because five years ago a rapper might have had one homie on every album at least once and that’s cause they where a lesser Rapper (Jay-Z/Memphis Bleek) or they were trying to put them on (Lil Wayne/ the really sucky section of Young Money, basically everyone other then Nikki and Drake) but where did this random trend of the cockiest people in the world relying on other cocky bastards come from?

I am going to start with it makes shitty rappers feel better. I mean Birdman does it on every song and the worst part (for us) is that he gets on in the middle of the song. We know the formula Drake and then Babe “I fuckin suck the donkiest of dicks rapping” Birdman and then Lil’ Wayne. In his head he feels like his itunes sells are through the roof but we know the truth and that is when the song comes on you really don’t want to hear Babe and when you hear him you get kind of pissed off almost like having a mouth full of jelly beans and all the sudden you bite into that black one (yes I’m calling Babe the black jelly bean of rappers) and it just fucks it up for everyone.

Now in some cases it’s not just pure “I wanna be hot”, sometimes its because well everybody needs a check. You ever listen to a DJ Khaled Album or even better watch a DJ Khaled Music Video. He handing out more checks then Welfair and keeps more rappers in jobs then McDonald’s. Big shouts to the $1.00 menu (what can I say we broke) Plus Khaled isn’t a rapper; he's a fat guy with beats. Why not share the wealth right? So every once in awhile I'm sure Mr. Busta Rhymes gets broke, you know like I know that ain’t nobody buying a Busta album right now (WOOHAAA the sting of reality) so he calls up Khaled like the rap temp agency and says “well my assignment is over” and Khaled does a video for him and the next 20 rappers who need help paying everyone from baby mommas, debt collectors, and they're boyfriends (let's be honest nothing about Lloyd Banks says he's into Vagina and number two Half of them have been to prison and odds be it all of them ain't been the dominant inmate).

Of coarse we know the biggest reason why boys and girls. Nobody wants to go away gently into the night. No one can just hang it up. It feels just to good to be in that lime light to be that star. Imagine you are at the top of the Game 22 years old, everyone wants to work with you, iTunes has you on the cover page, they’re using your songs for commercials (you know how Mcdonald’s and Sprite love Hip-Hop Commercials on BET) and then one day you wake up a cab driver in New Jersey hoping you can get on VH1's Hip-Hop Honors so you can stop eating cat food and telling everyone its for a real animal (Poor Cappadonna & Pras). So you hop up on the train just hoping it will last long enough to get you to the next stop.

In conclusion its not exactly equal opportunity more like "I suck you suck but we broke. Khaled got enough beats to go around and Lil Wayne so happy to be out he'll do a track with John Stamos, so let's make some money before my baby momma sues me again for child support”. But before you judge or begin to, ask yourself this, who do you see not in rap groups?

Song of the WEEK: Jay-Z- Heart of the City (Unplugged)
Check Me Out on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop