Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Equal Opportunity Rapping… Really???

Is it just me or are there a whole lot of rap groups springing out right now. I think everybody got a group or group album or a squad of rappers that they can’t help but do songs with. I don’t think its out of the fact that all these rappers is homies because five years ago a rapper might have had one homie on every album at least once and that’s cause they where a lesser Rapper (Jay-Z/Memphis Bleek) or they were trying to put them on (Lil Wayne/ the really sucky section of Young Money, basically everyone other then Nikki and Drake) but where did this random trend of the cockiest people in the world relying on other cocky bastards come from?

I am going to start with it makes shitty rappers feel better. I mean Birdman does it on every song and the worst part (for us) is that he gets on in the middle of the song. We know the formula Drake and then Babe “I fuckin suck the donkiest of dicks rapping” Birdman and then Lil’ Wayne. In his head he feels like his itunes sells are through the roof but we know the truth and that is when the song comes on you really don’t want to hear Babe and when you hear him you get kind of pissed off almost like having a mouth full of jelly beans and all the sudden you bite into that black one (yes I’m calling Babe the black jelly bean of rappers) and it just fucks it up for everyone.

Now in some cases it’s not just pure “I wanna be hot”, sometimes its because well everybody needs a check. You ever listen to a DJ Khaled Album or even better watch a DJ Khaled Music Video. He handing out more checks then Welfair and keeps more rappers in jobs then McDonald’s. Big shouts to the $1.00 menu (what can I say we broke) Plus Khaled isn’t a rapper; he's a fat guy with beats. Why not share the wealth right? So every once in awhile I'm sure Mr. Busta Rhymes gets broke, you know like I know that ain’t nobody buying a Busta album right now (WOOHAAA the sting of reality) so he calls up Khaled like the rap temp agency and says “well my assignment is over” and Khaled does a video for him and the next 20 rappers who need help paying everyone from baby mommas, debt collectors, and they're boyfriends (let's be honest nothing about Lloyd Banks says he's into Vagina and number two Half of them have been to prison and odds be it all of them ain't been the dominant inmate).

Of coarse we know the biggest reason why boys and girls. Nobody wants to go away gently into the night. No one can just hang it up. It feels just to good to be in that lime light to be that star. Imagine you are at the top of the Game 22 years old, everyone wants to work with you, iTunes has you on the cover page, they’re using your songs for commercials (you know how Mcdonald’s and Sprite love Hip-Hop Commercials on BET) and then one day you wake up a cab driver in New Jersey hoping you can get on VH1's Hip-Hop Honors so you can stop eating cat food and telling everyone its for a real animal (Poor Cappadonna & Pras). So you hop up on the train just hoping it will last long enough to get you to the next stop.

In conclusion its not exactly equal opportunity more like "I suck you suck but we broke. Khaled got enough beats to go around and Lil Wayne so happy to be out he'll do a track with John Stamos, so let's make some money before my baby momma sues me again for child support”. But before you judge or begin to, ask yourself this, who do you see not in rap groups?

Song of the WEEK: Jay-Z- Heart of the City (Unplugged)
Check Me Out on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

All This Beef, But No H.A.M.

For some odd reason hip-hop feeds off other rappers "HATIN" on other rappers. I can't remember a time where there was no beef except for that brief period  after Tupac and The Notorious B.I.G. Were killed (Yes them Niggas is dead not on some island with Micheal Jackson singing "I'm easy like sunday morning"). But the amount of beef ain't the issue here, the issue is that ain't no body going hard as a Mu*** F***ka, and the last beef that went like that was 50Cent and Ja-Rule (rest in peace to Ja-Rules Career). So is this the rap peace period we've all been promised (but nobody really gives a sh*t about) do I never have to get worried about my favorite rapper getting shot (I would hope not) or has BITCHASSNESS taken over the rap community in whole?

I hate to say it but yeah bitchassness is running rapid right now. I mean a few short Years ago if you had beef someone's career was gonna end. Now aday these punk asses be hugging after a month of pussy footing around each other. How you gonna call out a grown man in public on any source of media big or small and think we gonna be cool. If Jay-Z called me out in a song I'm going hard (I'm gonna lose but damnit I'm grown). Ain't gonna be no hugging, Farakahn can't say shit to me to make me feel no better (btw Ja-Rule sounded like a real bitch in that interview) until I see this man and we square up toe to toe I'm keep going until someone pays me to stop (I'm a sell out, what more can I say?).

I'm not gonna forget about the south. For yaw to be some of the craziest golly I'm gully rappers in the game yaw beef don't last long enough to take a sh*t. According to Bone Crusher yaw ain't never scared and with Lil Jon(I know no one cares about him anymore), Gucci Mane (yes that is an ice cream cone on the side of his face, a little faggy right?), and Waka Flaka (I didn't quit school because my brother died I quit because all I could do was write my name and a lot of gunshot noises) running around I don't know how aint nobody been shot yet. (Side note: is it just me or when a Waka Flaka song comes on do you just wanna go robbing a bank butt ass naked (Cocaine and PCP optional) and do some crazy gangsta shit like run into a day care center and start choking babies?)

All I'm tryin to say is I don't get it. You will talk shit about the imaginary guy that all rappers are talking about, or make a subliminal rap but won't have the gumption to say hey 50 Cent you a bitch and Game you act like a bitch too (See I just did). Ten years ago Drake would have been told Lil Wayne he sucks and that beef would have sparked off but no, everyone gotta be all huggy kissy and sh*t. Stop being a bitch and the Hip-Hop world will run a lot smoother we might even get rid of a shit rapper or two...

P.S. DJ Khalid, SHUT THE FUCK UP!!! We like the song stop yelling at me?

Song of the week: Jay-Z feat. Kanye West-Haters

Check me out on TWITTER: @sonsofhiphop

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

New Classes Every Five Minutes

Honestly I can understand the stream of emails that I’ve been getting about the amount of negativity I been spewing on my page and to those who feel that way go Fucking write you own blog. To new business, when I say Hip-Hop is getting real brand new I mean its branching further and further off into every different direction. Hip-Hop ain’t something we can hold down in one separate category no matter how hard they try to keep it down. Not to say a lot of this shit ain’t wack (you know who you are). So I want to dedicate a couple of characters to a couple up and coming key note gentlemen and  a lady (if for some odd reason you think that young lady is the tranny from America Best Dance Crew I’m going to smack the snot out ya momma… Dead or alive). So sit back for this compliment sandwich.

Corey Gunz. My man got bars and definitely gave the swamp monkey a run for his money on his own song. So what is he going to do with these bars though?  I’ve heard a few freestyles and people keep telling me his mixtapes are street bangers but honestly all I hear is you as a feature. I know we all got to start out slow but I need something real from you. Your beat, your song, not just a hot 16 and a whole bunch of old school style DJ Clue mix tape freestyles (Damn I miss them things). I honestly see a whole lot of potential in him though. He has a delivery, a major flow, not one I’ve never heard before, but a flow all the same worth listening to.

Nikki Manaj. Let me get this out of the way right now before I start (DEEP BREATH). You are the object of affection of every 12yr old boy and sexually confused girl in the continental United States. You fine as shit you make the front of my pants tight. I’m done (promise). You got a major flow your delivery is fucking insane (sometimes) even though the voices and the weird comments make you seem like a weirdo (with a fat ass) but I can dig that though. You’re not giving me all I want though I want you to eat MC’s all day long. I don’t want to see you dance I could care less what you wear (LIES). I want you to give me that monster flow you capable of every time. Right now you working on some of the time and honestly sweetie you’re way better than that.

J. Cole. I’m not hearing enough of this man honestly. He has a flow, a style, and a young Kanye West confidence that he needs to exploit for the Good of Hip-Hop. You give him a little bit more production sit him with a 9th Wonder, Guru, or Kanye and you got a problem. I would hate for him to turn into a Saigon style disappointment because we all know it’s possible.

Honorable Mention, Wiz Khalifa. You disappointed homie, real talk I gave the black and yellow rapper an honest chance and the CD just sounds like a very hood Kid Cudi. I can tell you’re better then that because you have a nice flow on every song on your record the problem is it didn’t stay on every song you work on that you good money homie.

In conclusion, we have a new class of rappers every year and more than likely the ones I just mentioned won’t be here next year. I’m perfectly fine with that. Constructive criticism is perfect and you got shit on somebody to make them better. If you got someone you want me to talk about let me know!

P.S. I’ve been gone for a minute so if you got something you need to tell me let me know leave a comment and I’m always looking for new music so let me know!

Song of the Week:  The Roots ft Peedi Crack & Dice Raw-Get Busy

Follow me on Twitter @sonsofhiphop

Monday, May 9, 2011

WHAT IN THE FUCK WAS THAT

 Who in the hell let this bullshit happen? Who woke up one day and said I’m gonna let Mr. BitchMade Pretty as a polished turd swag, my mother, brother, grandmother, hate him in that order Play Bishop in a Juice Remake. If you’re wondering who I’m talking about I’m talking about Soulja Boy, the Bain of hip-hops existence the best part of you rolled down your daddy’s leg. If your stomach was on fire I wouldn’t piss down your throat. I mean is there no one else, is he literally blowing the director, or the rest of the world because I ain’t had my knock on the door for a Soulja Boy Chewbacca surprise yet. We talking about an Icon here top 5 dead or Alive on your favorite rapper’s favorite rapper chart reduced to a nut CLOWN playing his role and from I keep reading on these message boards is that people are happy about it(probably the same ones who like 6 hours of 106 & Park).

Did Tupac do something wrong? Is this like a punishment for him that you just got to piss on the role that sky rocketed Tupac to acting super stardom or is this me being punked because it ain’t funny! We talking about a Real Rapper someone who probably at one point or another made you piss your pants. I know he was crazy, you know he was crazy, shit he know he was crazy. He’s going to pop out his grave wake Soulja Boy up in his mansion built by ring tones and 14 year old girls and smack the shit out of him just watch. At some point isn’t it just a little disrespectful to let someone who isn’t a legend play this iconic hip-hop/movie, Maybe one of the most important roles in black cinema. This fool cant convey that pain, the confusion. I tell you what he can do fuck up a good movie for a whole new generation of  hip hop heads who will never see the original because Pretty boy swag fucked up a solid movie classic.

Honestly I don’t think it’s a that can be made all that much in the first place because it ain’t “92” no more everybody got a gun and I’m pretty sure my Nana (grandmother) got at least 2 bodies and a warrant. So shooting your homie and Mr. Chicken Low Meo ain’t new shit anymore. I watch Juice every night at 6 o’clock on ABC, it’s called the NEWS!!! For some odd reason someone is acting like this is new shit. When In all honest this movie is being replayed in real life in west Baltimore right now as you read this.

In conclusion I want to know what’s next, Roscoe Dash as Ice Cube in Boys in the Hood, Justin Bieber as O-Dog in Menace to Society, Tyga as Nino Brown in New Jack City, Little Momma Starring in the Lady of Rage biopic (that one sounds terrible even if they had a real actor). What in the world are we going to let commercialism destroy before we all end up wearing pearls, skinny leg jeans, and Santa hats cause because I will quit and start shooting billionaires. I’m serious somebody gotta go I’m starting a revolution OJ the Juiceman your bitch ass is NEXT.

Song of the Week: Tupac-Ambitionz of a Ridah

Follow Me on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop

Monday, April 25, 2011

If Its On The Internet It's Gotta Be True, Right???

So I was watching worldstarhiphop.com yesterday and I came across a couple of videos (not talking about the freaky ones) that kind of pist me off.  See the one that sparked this is Jennifer Hudson brother in law talking about how you need to sacrifice something to be an Illuminati Mason member and thats why his son died. Then I went on to see this lady protesting at a Jay-Z show because he’s a “Devil worshiper” , then on top of that (yeah I kept watching and reading) apparently there is a whole channel on youtube.com that people have set up to prove that celebrities are “Devil worshippers” or cult members. So how did we get to this retarded ass point in life?
If it’s online it has to be true. When I see shit like this it further proves that people are retarded. You watch one video of someone who sounds serious and enunciates his words (you know uses his E’s and R’s) and you hang off of everything that he/she says. I can put up a video on youtube telling everyone how George Bush is from Compton and does love black people with a nice shirt on and take a picture of him kissing a black baby (I know he doesn’t kiss black babies but that’s why we have photoshop) and you would believe me with logic like that. OK so there’s people screaming at his concerts and he said I don’t pray to God I pray to Gotti is that really a good enough reason to think that he’s a Devil worshipper or are you just being a follower?
You can’t be both at the same time you jack ass. Illuminati are scientist who believes in the big bang theory love is a chemical reaction in your brain, and greatest of you grandmothers was a monkey and all that foolishness. Free Masons are an extension of the Templar Knights from the crusades you know warriors for Christ who kill Muslims because they don’t think Jesus is the true messiah and “the Pope told me to” types. You tell me where in that whole grand scheme both of these theories coexist…. It’s ok, I’ll wait (whistling the theme to Charles in Charge). They don’t so if you’re running around screaming how these people are members of both you might want to go and smack yourself because you sound like a dickhead (case in point J. Hudson’s brother in law).
In Conclusion can we stop the bitch assness. Ok Eminem made some money, Jay-Z now and Jay-Z then are two totally different rappers, and Jennifer Hudson lost a man and a half of weight (I loved her chunkie ass by the way)  that does not mean that they are devil worshippers or a part of some ancient religion where everything in there life goes a curtain way cause they pray and sacrifice to Zuel (Ghost Busters reference ladies and gentlemen) instead of staying hungry and doing what they needed to do to hit success in the face.  It sounds to me like people are basically haters and need  a reason so extreme and stupid to be okay with the fact that they riding in a  Ford P.O.S. and Russell Simons owns a Rolls Royce that he doesn’t drive. Get a Life and if you still feel some sort of way about what I just said Fuck you and have a nice day!!!
Song of the Week: Beanie Sigel - The Truth

Follow Me on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop

Sunday, April 10, 2011

DO NOT TRY THIS @ HOME

Music Videos are the reason for the downward spiral of society. Oh yeah I said it. Look at them, fake, glitzy, no one’s fat except Ross (Big shout outs to ROZAY) and that weird chubby kid I want to kill, commit suicide, and kill again in the “Teach me how to Dougie” video, beautiful women, guns, clothes tacos, cars, spreads of fine cheeses that I've never tasted before, and money. All that's all good but more than likely if you’re on the other end of the screen like me you broke. Not like regular broke I mean like scrounging up some quarters to buy a loosie, I aint got no insurance, momma basement is my apartment broke. But because of music videos by Hype Williams your basement apartment with the fridge upstairs with your orange juice you labeled because you don't want no one to drink it (sign you need to MOVE THE FUCK OUT!!!) Has all the hot clothes, sneakers, and quality fine shit you could fake the funk with, but why?
Visual stimulation is a bastard. You see it, you want it, and if you keep seeing it you’re going to want it more and more. How many of us assholes wanted spinning rims? Now ask yourself when was the last time you have seen a spinning rim? At one Point a set of 20 inch (rims not even old enough to drink yet I know) was 10k. A year of college at most universities or enough to buy a quarter of Jamaica. Pretty stupid when you think about it, but 36 Mafia had a video called "I Ride Spiners" and yes we remember those seasons of "MTV Cribs" where everyone from Justin Timberlake to Barbara Walters had a set, and we wanted them.  Watching 3 minutes and 22 seconds of Dame Dash running around drunk, spilling expensive champagne on women while Jay-Z sat on a car with wheels spinning made you think that spinning rims was better than sliced bread.  Excuse me for riding in the wheels the engineers who built the car deemed proper for max safety, oh and saving 10 grand.
 You ever notice the real pretty girl in the bikini who looks like she is Brazilian, Egyptian, Dominican, Columbian, and French. The one all wrapped around that swamp monkey’s finger (Lil’ Wayne is the monkey I’m talking about). She don’t like him, she don’t like you, I don’t like you, more than likely you don’t like you but damn it she like Plies she like Craig Mac (old school ugly rapper right there). Oh yes these video Vixens (hoes) don’t care about looks do they. You want to know why cause these broads is getting paid to sit on his lap. And most of the time if they do like them it’s because money and diamonds bring a whole different type of swag and when you hop up out of bed and put your swag on its more than likely out of the Old Spice bottle (or Target/Wal-Mart equivalent). So after you go watch that video you go out with your extra regular ass and decide to go talk to Miss I’m fine as shit with a great personality and be mad when she don’t want you.
In conclusion I want you to think about it like this, THE SHIT AINT REAL, NONE OF IT. No one is running around calling Rick Ross who used to be a prison guard mind you El Jefe, Lil Wayne is not a Martian, Robin Thicke aint screwing all these broads neither is Maxwell, Trey Songs, Diddy or anyone from G-Unit, and Lil Momma in real life is a troll from under the Brooklyn bridge(not joking, and she fuckin sucks). Turn off BET (don’t know why you would watch it any way), stop modeling your life after what you see on television cause if you do your going to look pretty FUCKIN stupid when you try the Erica Badu “Window Seat” video or any video for that matter. Go read a book or listen to an album and see where that takes your imagination instead of letting someone else tell you what you should think.
Song of The Week: Kanye West ft. The Game - Crack Music
 Follow me on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop

Monday, April 4, 2011

Time Tested and Double Stamped…. A Mutha F#$%!@ Classic.

Illmatic, 36 Chambers, Reasonable Doubt, The War Report, The Chronic, Ready to Die, Its Dark and Hell is Hot, The Fix, and Only Built for Cuban Linx. Now if you are a Hip-Hop head like me everything about the albums  I just named should make the hair on the back of your neck stand up, but for those of you who are new to the art form those right there are some of the best albums Hip Hop has to offer or what we like to call the classics, we’re not here to talk about the greatest of all; time we’re here to talk about what makes them classics instead of the run of the everyday BULL SHIT you probably hear on the radio everyday....
The first two words in the title are the definition of a classic, time tested. See the Chronic came out in the early 90’s but you play that at any time random screams of hood joy will rain down from the heavens in 4 words:  AWW THAT’S MY SHIT!!! I remember the first time I heard it. I was rather young yes, but I remember the hype. My sister cracked open that cassette and it was nonstop west coast hip hop for days.  See, no matter where you are, what point in your life, or how long it’s been its still just as good as when you left it.
It ain’t exactly about the units. A classic is a classic no matter what. Illmatic and Reasonable Doubt took years to finally go platinum but they’re on your favorite rapper’s favorite rapper’s top ten lists every time. The reason is because it’s good music and it is hard to come by. There may be a lot of them (classics), but think of all the albums put out a year there’s a better chance of them all being garbage then one of them being a classic.
Before I close this out the last thing I need to talk about is craftsmanship. Some pride in what you do the work and determination and the ability to possess the gumption to know that if you suck or if the song sucks to NOT FUCKING MAKE IT.  The drive it takes to make a classic is phenomenal.  
In the end its completely up to you. Just like in any major sport there is a hall of fame but it doesn’t matter if your favorite player is in there or not he’s still your favorite player. I think  Ma$e’s Harlem World is a classic and there are tons of people who think I’m nuts but I don’t give a good hot damn, and will fight you tooth and nail over it and you want to know why?  Because in the end it’s up to me to choose what I love and it is up to you to choose what you love.
Song of the Week:  The Roots- What they Do
Follow me on Twitter: @sonsofhiphop

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Hip-Hop’s Overdue, Extremely Late Term Abortion of Soldier Boy and Friends!!!

     In all honesty I wish death on no one, just to their action. See when you love something (Hip-Hop) with all your heart all you want to do is see it grow and I love Hip-Hop.  My problem is this terrible new generation is completely ruining it for me.  Songs like Woody She’s a White girl with a booty, any of that garbage by Flo-Rida, Cat Daddy, and the cover boy to this whole essay Soldier Boy literally make me sick to my stomach and do nothing but ruin the finest art form ever created.
     Now don’t get me wrong and I promise I’m not being overly dramatic I’m just generally pissed off. We all know that everybody isn’t a Public Enemy, Common, Kanye West, Jay-Z, Talib Kweli  or even Cam’ron but come on. What happened to the battle Rapper, where is the actual sense of lyricism. Not just a banging 808 that covers up your simple standard ABC raps. You ain’t saying shit… At all… You’re not making me think or telling me a story. You’re pissing me off. You want to know why because you are some of the worst rappers in the entire world, but you get all of the fame when you really should be shot and quartered for this slow murder that you’re in the steady process of committing.
     I don’t just blame you though for being bad rappers. We let it happen. Oh yes us. See you’ll spend $1.00 for a ring tone but you only want to spend $5.00 for a CD if you even spend that at all. I’m guilty of a few just like the rest of us, but I learned the errors in my ways and you should too. See a record label will sell white sheets to the Klan if it moves albums. So you buy the ringtone for that dance record for your phone (No judgments) but you go to your favorite free mp3 site and download a classic. The bullshit makes money and when I turn on my radio and just because you wanted pretty boy swag (you wack bastard) as a ring tone I have to listen to it 4 times an hour and every extra wack want to be rich and ruin what I love bitch that a record label can find.
     What I’m saying and have been saying is that Hip-Hop is your responsibility. You can’t get away from it and you can’t run from it. It is everywhere corner to corner and unless you want to see it watered down and ruined until its unrecognized stop supporting the bullshit. Buy a real album!!!
This week’s song is Common- I used to love H.E.R.
Follow me on Twitter : @SonsofHIPHOP